Who Taught You These Things?

 

Dad passed from this life 13 years ago on March 8 of this year. Hardly a day passes when I don’t think about my dad. I remember the sound of his voice. I can still hear his laugh in my memories. Most important I hold many of the values he instilled in my life. I can’t approach this time of the year without thinking of the influence a father has on his family. There are several things my father left in my life. In remembrance of him I want to share those with you.

First, dad instilled in me an appreciation for friends. I remember dad telling me that if a man could number his really good friends on the fingers of one hand he was blessed. He went on to tell me when times were hard you still had the same friends you had when times were good. It is just when times are hard you know who your true friends are. A few years back Robbi and I went through a difficult period in our lives. I was amazed at how true my dads words proved to be during this time. I still had the same friends I had when times were good, it was just now I knew who they were.

Second, dad left with me an appreciation for wisdom. I recall many times when I was about to make a poor decision that he would say to me, “Son I have already bought that experience.” What he meant was he had already walked that path. He had seen the difficulties poor choices made. His encouragement was for me to avoid the mistake and walk in wisdom. How many times since his death I would have loved to have been able to tap into his wisdom.

Third, my dad shared with me the importance of integrity. I can still hear his words in my mind. I remember him telling me that at the end of the day I might have fooled all men around me, but, I couldn’t hide my life from God or my memories. I had to see all the the mistakes I had made every time I looked in the mirror.

Finally, I learned from my dad the importance of building a relationship with God. It was late in my dad’s life that he gave his life to God. I can’t tell you the number of times I have heard him say that he wasted so much time. He used to say that when all is said and done the only thing that matters is your relationship with God. The older I get the more I realize he was right. I don’t know all the answers, I don’t even know all the questions. I do know that the most important thing I can do is maintain a great relationship with God.

Thanks dad for all the things you have left behind. As long as my mind is active your memory and your influence will never die.

5 Responses to Who Taught You These Things?

  1. Jan says:

    I know how much you miss you Dad. I miss my Mom too. As long as they are in our hearts they are not really gone. I’m sure you can hear your Dad’s opinion on whatever you’re going through, just like I can my Mom. Good friends help you get through the tough times–that what good friends do. Thanks for all your help, you and Robbie were God sent! I know this may ba a sad time for you but just remember, it’s not the end!

  2. Thanks, Jan

  3. Jerry says:

    Thank God for good days who point us to the only real thing in life.

  4. Don says:

    Thank you for these thoughts, Dell…they are a blessing.

    Don

  5. Don Morrison says:

    I hope I have been a dad like that for my children. I often fear that I have not done enough, or that our experiences with “Israel” have damaged their perspective. I wonder what they would write at this time or, say, 20 years from now.

Leave a Reply

