What Do You Teach a Grandson?

During Christmas I spent time with my grandson Drennen telling him some of the things that he needed to know.  Drennen  was my brand new grandson.  This visit to Alabama I have been spending time telling these things to Jaxon.  He was born just a couple of weeks ago.  What kind of things does a grandpa tell his grandson?

I spent time telling them how to tie a lure.  We talked about what the best lures were to catch the biggest bass.  We spent time discussing just when to set the lure and how to adjust the drag properly on a reel when it needed to be done.

We talked about the proper way to yell “Roll Tide” on Saturdays in the fall.  I told them how that Alabama “Crimson” was a color that even the Lord loved.  We spent time bonding like a grandpa and grandsons are supposed to do.

My boys and I talked about the more important facts of life.  I told them how that a man’s first responsibility is to God.  We  discussed   the need to always be men of integrity.  I told them about the need to always tell the truth and take responsibility for their actions.  I shared with Jax and Drennen  their  need to always be true to who they are,  individuals created in the image of God.

Last but certainly not least I told Jax and Drennen that God already has special things in mind for them to do.  God created them both with a purpose.  God created Jaxon and Drennen to serve Him and bring glory to His name. 

This is the first of many conversations we will have about these things.  There are just some things that can best be taught by a grandpa.  I am looking forward with great anticipation to watching the special things God has in mind for these grandsons of mine. 

 

5 Responses to What Do You Teach a Grandson?

  1. Kay says:

    Dell that was a great story. You will be a great inspiration to them. Grandchildren are the best!!!! I have two and do not know what I would do without them.

  2. Thanks Kay, I hope I can be a great inspiration to them.

  3. Carol says:

    I am glad you are enjoying those boys!! Do you have the requisite photos in a “Let me show you my grandchildren” folder of some type?

    I am going to florida to see Ben tomorrow while Joe heads to Nashville to watch Jared play basketball…we hear he is really good!! I think Papa can teach him a thing or three about the game.

    Enjoy those babies…they grow quickly.

  4. Thanks, I intend to enjoy them all I can.

  5. christina says:

    Mom agreed that Drennen looks like an Alldridge! Go Robbi

Leave a Reply

