A Day In The Life of Today’s Preacher – Would Paul Recognize it?

Today was a typical Sunday in my life.   My time on Sunday Mornings is busy.  I got up about 6:30 to begin my day.   I began by  spending time in prayer.  Once dressed I ate breakfast and my day started for real.  Each Sunday morning is spent in much the same way.  I make sure my powerpoint presentation is ready.  I place it on a thumb drive and meet the projectionist at the church building so that my lesson can be put in the proper place for the morning worship presentation.  Once back home I spend the next hour reviewing my class and sermon. 

After arriving at the building at 9:15 I make sure I meet and greet as many people as I possibly can.  Once 9:30 comes I begin to teach my Sunday morning class.  After Bible class we begin our worship assembly.  Each Sunday morning I do my best to present a lesson that meets some practical need in the lives of the members of the congregation.  Our worship period usually ends about 11:45.

Today we had a congregational meal after our worship service.  By the time the meal was finished and we got home it was about 1:30.  At 2:00 I picked up the wife of one of our older members and took her to the hospital to visit her husband.  She is 92 and no longer drives. While she was visiting her husband I visited with others I knew who were in the hospital.  By the time I took her back to her assisted living home and returned to my house it was 4:15.  I spent the next hour in prayer and review of my lesson I was presenting to the group this evening.  I arrived about 5:45 for our evening assembly.  We spent the next hour together in fellowship and study.  During this time I presented a lesson to the group.  After we dismissed a few of us went to Chili’s and ate together.  I arrived home about 8:45 and begin to write down the events of the day.

This is a very typical Sunday in the life of this preacher.  As I was driving home tonight I was thinking, would Paul recognize this day as a typical Sunday if he were with us today?  I’m not sure.  I suspect that Paul might have centered his attention more on those who are outside our spiritual family.  Sometimes I wonder if our way of doing things is really the best way to preach Jesus to those who need to hear the message.  I’m not sure Paul would recognize what we did today as a typical Sunday in the life of a preacher.  What do you think?

9 Responses to A Day In The Life of Today’s Preacher – Would Paul Recognize it?

  1. Row says:

    This does make you stop and think… are we all to busy feeding ourselves… do we forget to feed those who may not know God. Sundays are a good day to recharge our batteries but we also need to help charge those around us. Visiting the sick in the hospital helping those in need, picking up those who can’t drive or who does not have the money for gas. Taking meals to those who are in need. Teaching the love of Jesus thru our actions. I think that is why I enjoy the Powell House on Sundays. I went today, had missed a couple of Sundays it surprised me that a couple of the ladies there had missed me….niced to be missed…but more than that they enjoy me being there. I think I hope that I am showing God’s love. Thanks Dell for sharing the love of God with us every Sunday.

  2. Thanks Row for all you guys do as well.

  3. Don Middleton says:

    I wouldn’t trade being a preacher for any other profession…because it is such an a blessing to be able to serve the Lord in so may ways. I understand what is being said in relationship to “going outside” to serve on Sundays…and we have done a lot of this where we are at, but the Lord also brings so many people “our way” on Sundays, who have needs, or are hurting in some way, that it can take up a full day, at times, nearly by itself. I believe that we need to be making disciples (building relationships with outsiders)…as we go, Sunday through Saturday…at least that is the challenge that Jesus presents to us the great commission.

    I will say this…dealing with the problems of humanity can be challenging and exacts a toll on preachers sometimes. There are a few people who have the uninformed belief that all we do is plan a Sunday sermon and a couple of lessons…and it’s all good. I think that these same folks would be amazed at the amount of mental, emotional and spiritual energy that goes into what we do, as we constantly deal with people’s concerns, as well as administrative matters and the community. A lot of my Sundays have begun at 7 AM and concluded at 9 PM or later…but, that’s okay, because as the joke or the story goes…it is the only day that the we preachers work. 😉

  4. Wayne McDaniel says:

    Dell,

    I appreciate you sharing this portion of your life with us. You write with an openess that reflects Jesus. I imagine that you are in a minority of preachers who regularly provide transportation on Sunday afternoons, but I am not surprised that you do.

    About your Sunday schedule cf. to Paul: As I read 1Cor.11:17
    I see that their gatherings were to be for strengthening. In 14:24-5, we read that Paul’s desire was for ALL of them to speak for God (prophecy), and that those unbelievers who may have joined them would be convicted of their own sins by what they heard the brethren speaking back and forth.

    I do not find ANY admonition in any of the epistles to invite unbelievers into the assembly to tell them of Jesus. That could occur, as 1 Cor.14 indicates, but there is no inspired instruction for us to do that.

    From Jesus’ words in John 13:34-5, the mark of discipleship is our love for each other. If unbelievers come into our gatherings, what do they see and hear? Quarreling over the meaning of scripture? Arms-length chit-chat that admits no weakness and seeks no help?

    The dialogue (Acts 20:7,9)of first century assemblies has been lost, and a predictable schedule is preferred nearly everywhere today. If those who have not yet believed on Jesus, saw and heard sincere love being expressed in our assemblies, some would want to enter our Father’s family.

  5. Don and Wayne,
    Thanks for your thoughts. I wouldn’t trade what I do for anything in the world. To help people is the best blessing one could receive this side of heaven. My thoughts are this:I’m not sure what the work of the preacher has become is what Paul would have known in his day. I’m not saying what we do is wrong, just different. Thanks for your thoughs.

  6. christina says:

    Dell,
    I’ve worked at Churches, and I’ve seen and heard and helped preachers do what they do. It’s not easy. I’ve also heard words spoken by people in the congregation after sermons or what not where they don’t agree with what the preacher said, but instead of talking directly to the preacher and see if the person misunderstood or if there could be a middle ground, this person starts gossiping and eventually the preacher gets asked to leave. This person would never do the job of a preacher, but criticizes the preacher. Preachers put not only their spiritual well-being, but their physical, mental, and emotional well-being into everything they do. I’ve seen preachers do 4 funerals in 3 days. Believe me, this takes a great deal out of you. I think Paul would have been proud of your day. If he had a car, I’m sure he would have used it to help others, too. Don’t put yourself down and think your not doing enough. Remember that God is our Father and when we do our very best, he’s proud of us, just like we’re proud of our kids when they do their very best, (even if it’s not perfect.) Keep doing what you know is right! Christina

  7. christina says:

    If you want, I can send you some of the reports from preachers in Zimbabwe so you can see what they do. Basicly the same. They go from house to house. Hand out pamphlets, preach and do charity work. Some of them have 2 or 3 different churches out in the country that they also go help take care with, but they believe the same things we do, and worship the same way we do. They just do it in smaller buildings. One of the churches has a yearly tenenager gathering and they preacher and teach aids education and eat and have games and the last one they had over 450 teenagers from around the country. Of course, this was held outside in the hot sun. Like I said, Same but different. I can send reports from Brazil missionaries, They do the same. Everyone has their way of reaching others. You made someone’s day by being nice enough to take them somewhere. That’s your light shining through. Christina

  8. Don Middleton says:

    It is encouraging to hear what you have to say, Christina. Excellent thoughts…thanks!

  9. Thanks Cristina. Hope all is well. dell

Leave a Reply

