A Soldier Has Fallen

About five years ago I was visiting in Payson.  My purpose for being in town was important. I was considering moving there to serve as  minister.  I was walking through the building with a few of the men from the church when Wayne Berry walked in. Wayne approached the group and asked, “Are you open for business?”  I assured him we were. At the time my Alabama accent was quite pronounced and he asked where I had been raised. He then proceeded to ask what I was doing in Payson. When I told him I was considering serving as the preacher, Wayne asked, “Are you any good?”  I told him he would have to come and find out for himself. Wayne did attend. Within a year Wayne was baptized.

At the time Wayne committed his life to Christ he was 90 years old.

This past Friday morning Wayne passed away at 94 years of age.  Wayne had known for some time death was near.  He had been very diligent in his preparations. All things were ready and for the last few weeks he had been awaiting death. I spoke plainly with him last Tuesday about what death is like for a Christian.  Wayne was at peace with what would take place.  His caregiver told us that the last few nights Wayne  sang hymns and quoted Scripture with her.

Wayne is my friend. I will miss his steady hand and the twinkle in his eye. I knew Wayne for five years and I can say with certainty he did all he knew to be a soldier for the Lord during those years.  God bless you Wayne, we will miss you.

5 Responses to A Soldier Has Fallen

  1. Don says:

    Dell,

    I am sorry for your loss. I am thankful that you could bless Wayne’s life…and that he could bless yours. I know how difficult to see our friends move on…

    Blessings,
    Don

  2. We miss our friends but we know it is only temporary. Thanks for your thoughts.

  3. Jan says:

    I am sorry for your loss, Dell. I also know the look on your face in the picture. You are baptizing someone into Christ and that’s your greatest joy in life. How fortunate for Wayne that you came to Payson. Keep up the good work my friend!

  4. Wayne was one of my blessings I received in coming to Payson. He was a great man.

  5. christina says:

    Like I’ve told you before, Remember every year that goes by isn’t another year without them, it’s another year closer to seeing them again.

Leave a Reply

