Can I Be Good Enough to be Saved?

Next month I will be teaching three classes at Copper Basin Family Encampment.  The topic I will be dealing with is, “So you think you’re good enough to be saved?”  I am excited about this subject.  So much of what we have taught in the past centered around living “good enough” to please God.  If you have no plans consider attending the encampment.  It will run from July 18-21.

Can I be good enough to be saved?  This is an important question.  If we answer the question with our lips in most cases we say no.  If we answer the question by the implication of our lives and the things we teach we probably say yes.

If I am saved at judgement why will I be saved?  This is a question that demands to be answered.  Will I be saved because I have understood doctrine correctly?  Is it my ability to understand which will be judged?  Will I be saved at judgment because I have correctly applied all that I have correctly understood?  Is it my application of understanding which will stand before God at the judgement?  If I am saved at the judgment it will because of my faith and trust in God.  Standing before God at judgment will be my heart.

So that I am not misunderstood let me make this statement as plainly as I can.  I can not understand God’s Word well enough nor obey those things I understand well enough to be saved by my actions!  Let me put this another way, I cannot be good enough to be saved!

Romans 4:7-8 says, “Blessed are they whose transgressions are forgiven,whose sins are covered.  Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord will never count against him.” This passage is taken from Psalms 32:1-2.  David was the writer of this Psalm. This is the same David who committed adultery, lied, and finally murdered the husband of Bathsheba.  What right did David have to pen these words?  With his sin how could he possibly speak of having sins covered and having sin the Lord would never count against him?

We miss the point of David.  David was a sinner.  Some of the things David did were grievous sins.  Yet, we find him called a man after God’s own heart.  God’s favor was with David, the sinner.  How can this be?  David was righteous for the same reason Abraham was righteous.  They had hearts that sought and trusted God.  Because of the great faith of their hearts God counted that faith as righteousness.

Does this have application to us?  Scripture teaches we are righteous because we are declared righteous by God.  My righteousness rests on God’s declaration.  If God can name sin, He can also choose not to count it against me.  Just as Abraham believed God and it was counted to him as righteousness, God will also declare us righteous if will place the trust of our hearts fully in Him.

Salvation and righteousness is not a formula.  If I do the right things or say the right words I am not automatically good enough to be saved.  I am only good enough to be saved when God says I am good enough.

4 Responses to Can I Be Good Enough to be Saved?

  1. Don says:

    The story of the rich, young ruler in Matthew 19 works with this subject quite well…blessings on your efforts.

  2. Thanks Don, I hope all is well with you guys.

  3. Jan says:

    In and of myself I am nothing. But when I put on Christ in baptism I became a child of the King. As long as I put God first and walk in the light Jesus’ blood hides, and continues to wash away my sin, from God’s eyes. It will be up to Jesus, on the day of judgement, to say whether my relationship with Him is good or bad. My reward will be singing around the throne of God. Not because of anything I did but because of what Jesus did for me. Active faith on may part and grace on His part.

  4. christina says:

    We will never be good enough for God to allow us to go to Heaven. But he allows us to be baptized and have a way into Heaven, We don’t go to Heaven because we’re “good” we go because we obey God and do as he asks of us. Please post your lessons so I can read them. Thanks! Christina

Leave a Reply

