God have Mercy on a Rule-Breaking Sinner Like Me

Often we approach service to God with an attitude of arrogance. We leave the impression that by our superior knowledge, understanding, and obedience we are somehow made holy as a result. We trust in our ability to grasp and apply Scripture for salvation. May I borrow from Paul, “God forbid.” Jesus condemned the Pharisees for the same mistake. Unfortunately today I see this attitude in my own heart as well as that of my fellow servants.

Shouldn’t we be thankful for God saving us? What makes us deserve salvation? Our superior knowledge, our masterful understanding, or is it the way we “obey the Word?”

When God saves us, it will be for the same reason God saved Abraham. It will be because we trust in the promises of God. Even then, it won’t be because I got the “facts” right. It will be because God extended His mercy to a unworthy, ungrateful, rule breaking sinner like me.

Guys, we aren’t in a position to display arrogance and legalism. We ought to humbly thank God He was willing to consider the trust in our hearts instead of the understanding of the minds or the actions of our bodies.

4 Responses to God have Mercy on a Rule-Breaking Sinner Like Me

  1. Guy says:

    Dell this blog concerns me. You inspire me to deeper study and consideration of all of God’s word. Yes, I know, better than most at times, that we all have shortcomings. However, I came to an understanding this morning that we need to look at the soul, which never dies, and not the physical person with is perishable. Jesus saw into the soul of people and did not see the physical failings and we should also. The heart is where the soul lives and I know you have a good heart for others and for God.
    If you made a mistake, I forgive you with no questions asked my friend and I hope I have read this blog post wrong.

    Hugs,
    Guy

  2. Guy thanks for the post. I make mistakes everyday, we all do. This post isn’t about a particular mistake but instead about an attitude we often display concerning salvation. I do appreciate your post. One ought appreciate those who are friends and particularly those who are friends in the Lord.

  3. Wayne McDaniel says:

    Dell,
    I just found your latest post, and I have seen the attitude of arrowgance you wrote of in others, and in retrospect, in MYSELF. Paul made clear the principle, “Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.” 1 Cor. 8:1 We should have the humility to recognize that the scriptures are a means for us to learn and imitate the heart of their Author. The deceitfulness of our hearts (Jer. 17:9)may lead us into the same condescending arrogance we read of in John 7:49.

    To help us learn our own need for grace, Luke 18:9-14 is unavoidable. Jesus makes clear there are only two ways that men and women speak to God. If repeatedly refuse to confess our sins (1 John 1:8-9), we will be unable to utter, “God, be merciful to me, the sinner.”, vs.13.

    “Pray without ceasing.”(1 Thes. 5:17) has been ignored. So has Col.4:2. Our negligence to speak to the Lord frequently makes hollow any claim to be spiritually mature above others. Jesus said God’s chosen “cry to God day and night”(Lk. 18:7). If that does not describe us, we have a foundational problem — we have not received the birth from Above.

    I am looking forward to your email or call. Wayne

  4. Thanks for your comment. I am at” crunch time” this week. I will send you some material soon. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

