How Loyal Am I?

The older I get the more I realize how much my dad really knew.  In my mind I can still hear him say, “When times get hard you still have the same friends, only now you know who they are.”  What he was really talking about was loyalty.  Scripture tells us if we are to have friends we must show ourselves friendly.  Scripture also tells us there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.  That is a description of loyalty!

Each of us might have a little different definition of what it means to be loyal, but all would agree that we want to surround ourselves with those who will be loyal. I reminded of the words of the old farmer, “Say what you mean and mean what you say.”  I have to say a hearty Amen to those words. “I want people in my life I can count on to be there.”  “I do not like people who straddle the fence.” We have heard all these words at different times in our life.  Maybe we have uttered some of them.  The truth is nobody wants to be around someone who can’t trusted to be loyal.  This brings me to the question we all need to ask, “How loyal am I?”

2 Responses to How Loyal Am I?

  1. Jan Cox says:

    We’ve been through good times (we may not have realized just how good they were at the time) and we have been through some really rough times together. I think the operative word is “together”. I still love you both as much as ever. You’re in my prayers as always. Call any time day or night–I’ll be there!

  2. Fritz says:

    I like good “dad” sayings!

Leave a Reply

