Total Honesty?

Tonight in Bible class we were examining Romans 12:3.   This text says, “Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.”  This is a very telling admonition.  We tend to rationalize almost any set of circumstances to make them fit our thoughts of how things ought to be.  What God is saying is simple, Look honestly at yourself with a sober judgment. 

One of the most difficult things for me is to look at my faults through the same glasses I use to view others. I usually find a way to give myself the benefit of the doubt.  When I look at others I tend to view them with a much more critical eye.  I don’t think I’m alone.  This seems to be a trait of all humanity. God isn’t telling us how we ought to view others in this passage.  He is telling us how we ought to look at ourselves!

If we could look in the mirror and see through to our souls I suspect it would change our prospective of life.  I am certain it would change how we deal with others. When I consider myself I see a man who without the grace of God would be  hopeless.  I see a man whose sins were so horrible they were responsible for nailing Jesus to the cross.

Think about this: “if we gave everyone else the benefit of the doubt we give ourselves how much better things would be!”  If this was the case marriages wouldn’t fail, alliances wouldn’t be established. Gossip would not exist. Hate wouldn’t be a major problem. We wouldn’t go to law against one another. We wouldn’t have a problem with arrogance, selfishness, or a multitude of other sins. We would realize that the problem with each of us rests within ourselves.

What a great place this would be if we could honestly see ourselves as we really are.    If we could give our fellow Christians the same benefits we give ourselves what a glorious fellowship we would enjoy!

Instead of attempting to solve the problems of others or telling how they have wronged us lets look deep into our souls and answer the question of who we really are.  May God extend his grace to all!  We can’t live eternally without it.  God’s love to all, Dell Kimberly

2 Responses to Total Honesty?

  1. Royce says:

    So painfully true! Thanks.

  2. Jeff says:

    Yes, U are so right.

Leave a Reply

