These Facts I Know

David said in Psalms 41:6-10,

Whenever one comes to see me,
he speaks falsely, while his heart gathers slander;
then he goes out and spreads it abroad. 
   7 All my enemies whisper together against me;
they imagine the worst for me, saying,
   8 “A vile disease has beset him;
he will never get up from the place where he lies.”
   9 Even my close friend, whom I trusted,
he who shared my bread,
has lifted up his heel against me. 
But you, O LORD , have mercy on me;
raise me up, that I may repay them.

One must wonder what David had been through when he penned these words.  How many lessons did he learn in the hard times?  The older we get the wiser we ought to become. There are a few things I have learned in my years I wish to share with the readers of this blog.

  • We Must Trust God. Psalms 40:4.  Man trusts in many things.  Sometimes we trust in riches, at others we trust in our abilities.  The blessed man is the man who makes the Lord his trust.
  • Really Good Friends are few and far between. David and Jonathan were closer than brothers.  Unfortunately there aren’t many who are like David and jonathan.  Most friends are what we call fair weather friends.  As long as things go well they are there for you.  If your circumstances change so do their friendships.  How many times have you been there for a friend  only to have them leave you when you needed them.
  • Honesty is always best.  God has commanded that we not lie. There was a reason for God making this command.  Lies always hurt those that tell them as well as those they tell them to. It is hard to admit but all mankind will lie at times in their lives.  This doesn’t make it right or the best decision.
  • I don’t know all things.  For much of my life I thought  I had all the answers.  If you didn’t believe me just ask and I would tell you.  Truth is I’m not sure of the questions anymore.  My belief about things I had thought were rock solid have changed.  I have come to realize it isn’t so much what I know as it is the condition of my heart before God.  My blessings depend on my relationship with God rather than how much I know or how well I obey what I know
  • I can’t always control the circumstances.   Often I have tried to do God’s work by making things happen my way through my own efforts.  I’m not in charge, God is!  The sooner we learn this the better our lives will be.  Rather than trying to control the circumstances we need to place our lives in God’s hand.
  • Treat others well and you will be rewarded.  I continue to believe that if you help others get what they need God will see that you get what you need. This is similar to the thoughts of our Lord when he said, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”
  • When times are hard you have the same friends as you do when times are good, it’s just now you know who they are. My dad has told me this many times.  I wish he were here today so I could listen more carefully to the things he said to me. This is a hard lesson to learn.  It leaves our feelings bruised and our hearts sad.
  • Gossip is more dangerous than dynamite. God warned us many times about gossip.  He never portrayed it in a positive way.  He always condemned gossip.  Why do you suppose so many are so willing to tote a story?  In the past year I have come to know first hand how damaging gossip actually is.  False words are like feathers scattered to the wind.  They are easy to scatter but almost impossible to clean up.
  • Forgiveness is hard. If  someone has hurt or wrong you then you understand just how hard it is to forgive.  The Lord has told us that if we don’t forgive, He won’t forgive us.  For me personally the hardest thing to do is forgive those who have hurt me, particularly when they don’t stop their damaging activities.
  • Vengence belongs to God. We want to get even. We want revenge when we are wronged.  Understand this fact,  vengence belongs to God, It isn’t in our hands.  When you are wronged turn it over to the Lord.  It is His to deal with and not in our job scale.
  • God is always in charge. If we could only learn this fact how much better this world would be. Man isn’t in control, God is in control.  Trust in Him.

I have come to realize that the things others have done to me aren’t pleasant but they pale in comparison to my sins.  It was my sins and yours that placed Jesus on the cross.  What right do we have to complain about what others do to us?  May God continue to show  His Love and Grace to an undeserving people.

 Dell Kimberly

Leave a Reply

